APL/NOL Awards $5,000 in Scholarships to Gardena High GLA Students

NOL-Scholars-2013-3

Nguyen and Kristie, Gardena High School, Global Leadership Academy students and APL/NOL Scholarship Recipients.

It all began in 2010. The extraordinary partnership between NOL (Neptune Orient Lines), its subsidiary, APL (American President Lines) and ITEP led to a $40,000 donation to support our programs and scholarships.  At that time, the generous donation was divided among eight ITEP academies, including the first round of scholarships, which were awarded during our 2011 Scholarship Dinner.

Now in 2013, two worthy seniors are equally sharing the last of the $5000 APL/NOL Scholarship.

We are honored to announce Kristie Choe and Nguyen Pham as the 2013 APL/NOL Scholarship Recipients. Both Kristie and Nguyen belong to Gardena High School’s Global Leadership Academy (GGLA). Kristie will be attending UC Berkeley this fall to study Business, while Nguyen will attend El Camino College with plans to transfer to a University of California after to major in aerospace engineering.

NOL-Scholars-2013-2

GGLA advisory board with APL/NOL scholarship recipients. (Left to right): Jamie Gutierrez (LAWA), Jay Marks (The Jay Marks Group), Susie Emami (ITEP), Lakisha Clark (Gardena High School), Nguyen (student), Kristie (student), Captain Sam Jebananthan (APL), La Shawn Stanford (UPS), Steve Pasienski (Toyota).

The GGLA students received their official APL/NOL certificates at the latest GGLA Advisory Board Meeting. Captain Sam Jebananthan, Senior Labor Manager for APL was present to congratulate the Gardena High seniors.

“I’m very happy to be part of a company that recognizes students as a real value to the community,” said Captain Jebananthan.

Our students were pleased and grateful – they were on the right track and appeared more motivated to approach the finish line at the end of their academic road. The APL/NOL scholarship was their “checkpoint”.

NOL-Scholars-2013-1

Captain Sam Jebananthan from APL (middle) with the young scholars.

“It’s not just a recognition, but it’s an evaluation for myself to see where I’m getting to, where I am in my pathway and what level I’m in. It’s a support – a mental support for myself to lead me through whatever comes in between me and my future,” said Nguyen who hopes to attend UCLA, his “dream school.”

We were further impressed by the words of Nguyen’s classmate and other APL/NOL Scholar, the future Bear and businesswoman.

“GGLA has been the mentor that’s always kept me on my road to success… I couldn’t wait until 10th grade, when I could actual join GGLA… it’s like my lighthouse, keeping me straight in my path,” said Kristie.

The ambitious senior also discussed her post-college graduation plans, which involve giving back to her community and other cities similar to her hometown. Maybe we’ll see Kristie at a future ITEP Executive Board meeting?

“I want to come back after being successful and help other students like me, who come from underserved families and underserved communities who can’t afford to go to these fancy colleges and who have never had that support…” she added.

Both Kristie and Nguyen will cross their high school stage, and then a university platform. The end result is… well, it’s meant to be seen.

“I want to be an entrepreneur, so I have lots of big ideas. I have lots and lots of goals, but let’s just say I want to be international.”

Spoken like a true ITEP student.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardena High School, GGLA

Leave a Reply

